Get Help Now!

Fifty Shades of Speeding Laws

Speeding laws and penalties are established by each state and vary significantly with regard to maximum posted speed limit, fines, points, and further penalties including license suspension and even incarceration if the violation is severe enough. Most states share information through their membership in the Driver’s License Compact (DLC) so that a speeding violation while you were on vacation in Florida will show up on your driver’s license in your home state with few exceptions. See the page on the DLC for more information.

Here is a list of each state’s maximum highway speed, reckless driving level, along with mandatory and maximum penalties for reckless driving:

Alabama

Max Highway Speed: 70 mph
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: none; misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 90 days imprisonment, $500 fine, 6-month license suspension

Alaska

Max Highway Speed: 65 mph
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: 30-day license suspension; misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 1 year imprisonment, $1000 fine, 30-day-plus license suspension

Arizona

Max Highway Speed: 75 mph
Excessive Speed Level: 35 mph in a school zone, 20 mph above the limit, exceeding 85 mph
Excessive Speed Mandatory Penalty: none;class 3 misdemeanor
Excessive Speed Maximum Penalty: 30 days imprisonment, $500 fine
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: none; class 2 misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 4 months imprisonment, $750 fine, 90-day license suspension

Arkansas

Max Highway Speed: 70 mph
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: none; class B misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 90 days imprisonment, $500 fine, 1-year license suspension

California

Max Highway Speed: 70 mph
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: none; misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 90 days imprisonment, $1000 fine, 30-day license suspension

Colorado

Max Highway Speed: 75 mph
Reckless Driving Level: 25 mph above limit
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: none; class 2 misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 90 days imprisonment, $300 fine, 1-year license suspension

Connecticut

Max Highway Speed: 65 mph
Reckless Driving Level: 85 mph
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: 30-day license suspension
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 30 days imprisonment, $300 fine, 90-day license suspension

Delaware

Max Highway Speed: 65 mph
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: $100 fine; misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 30 days imprisonment, $300 fine, 1-year license suspension

District of Columbia

Max Highway Speed: 50 mph
Excessive Speed Level: 30 mph above limit
Excessive Speed Mandatory Penalty: none
Excessive Speed Maximum Penalty: 90 days imprisonment, $300 fine, 90-day license suspension
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: 6-month license revocation
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 3 months imprisonment, $250 fine, 6-month license revocation

Florida

Max Highway Speed: 70 mph
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: none; misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 90 days imprisonment, $500 fine, 1-year license suspension

Georgia

Max Highway Speed: 70 mph
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: none
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 1 year imprisonment, $1000 fine, 5-year license suspension

Hawaii

Max Highway Speed: 60 mph
Excessive Speed Level: 80 mph, 30 mph above limit
Excessive Speed Mandatory Penalty: 6 hours community service or 2 days imprisonment, $500 fine, 30-day license suspension
Excessive Speed Maximum Penalty: 5 days imprisonment, $1000 fine, 30-day license suspension
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: none; petty misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 30 days imprisonment, $1000 fine, license revocation

Idaho

Max Highway Speed: 80 mph
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: none; misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 90 days imprisonment, $300 fine, 30-day license suspension

Illinois

Max Highway Speed: 70 mph
Excessive Speed Level: 26 mph above limit
Excessive Speed Mandatory Penalty: none; class B misdemeanor (26 mph above limit), class A misdemeanor (35 mph above limit)
Excessive Speed Maximum Penalty: 6 months imprisonment, $1500 fine (class B); 12 months imprisonment, $2500 fine (class A)
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: none; class A misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 1 year imprisonment, $2500 fine, 1-year license revocation

Indiana

Max Highway Speed: 70 mph
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: none; class B misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 180 days imprisonment, $1000 fine, 1-year license suspension

Iowa

Max Highway Speed: 70 mph
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: none; simple misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 30 days imprisonment, $500 fine, 1-year license suspension

Kansas

Max Highway Speed: 75 mph
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: none; misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 90 days imprisonment, $500 fine, 1-year license revocation

Kentucky

Max Highway Speed: 70 mph
Careless/Reckless Driving Level: none
Careless/Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: none
Careless/Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: $100 fine, 2-year license revocation

Louisiana

Max Highway Speed: 75 mph
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: none; misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 90 days imprisonment, $200 fine, 1-year license revocation
Careless-Driving Level: none
Careless-Driving Mandatory Penalty: none; misdemeanor
Careless-Driving Maximum Penalty: 30 days imprisonment, $175 fine, 1-year license revocation

Maine

Max Highway Speed: 75 mph
Excessive Speed Level: 30 mph above limit
Excessive Speed Mandatory Penalty: none; class E crime
Excessive Speed Maximum Penalty: 6 months imprisonment, $1000 fine, 30-day license suspension

Maryland

Max Highway Speed: 65 mph
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: none; misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: $1000 fine, 2-year license revocation

Massachusetts

Max Highway Speed: 65 mph
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: 60-day license revocation; misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 2 years imprisonment, $200 fine, 60-day-plus license revocation (if they stick you in the pokey, you won’t need your license anyway!)

Michigan

Max Highway Speed: 70 mph
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: 90-day license suspension; misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 90 days imprisonment, $100 fine, 90-day license suspension
Felonious Driving Level: none
Felonious Driving Mandatory Penalty: 1-year license suspension; felony
Felonious Driving Maximum Penalty: 2 years imprisonment, $2000 fine, 1-year license suspension

Minnesota

Max Highway Speed: 70 mph
Excessive Speed Level: 100 mph
Excessive Speed Mandatory Penalty: 6-month license revocation
Reckless or Careless Driving Level: none
Reckless or Careless Driving Mandatory Penalty: $300 fine; misdemeanor
Reckless or Careless Driving Maximum Penalty: 90 days imprisonment, $1000 fine, 1-year license suspension

Mississippi

Max Highway Speed: 70 mph
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: none; misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: $100 fine, license suspension

Missouri

Max Highway Speed: 70 mph
Reckless Driving Level: 20 mph above limit
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: none; class B misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 6 months imprisonment, $500 fine, 30-day license suspension

Montana

Max Highway Speed: 75 mph
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: none; misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 90 days imprisonment, $300 fine, 1-year license suspension

Nebraska

Max Highway Speed: 75 mph
Willful Reckless Driving Level: none
Willful Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: 30-day license revocation; class III misdemeanor
Willful Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 3 months imprisonment, $500 fine, 1-year license revocation
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: none; class III misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 3 months imprisonment, $500 fine, 6-month license revocation

Nevada

Max Highway Speed: 75 mph
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: none; misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 6 months imprisonment, $1000 fine, 1-year license suspension

New Hampshire

Max Highway Speed: 70 mph
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: $250 fine, 60-day license revocation; violation
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: $500 fine, 60-day license revocation

New Jersey

Max Highway Speed: 65 mph
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: none; quasi-criminal/petty offense
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 60 days imprisonment, $200 fine, 180-day license suspension

New Mexico

Max Highway Speed: 75 mph
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: none; misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 90 days imprisonment, $100 fine, 90-day license suspension

New York

Max Highway Speed: 65 mph
Excessive Speed Level: 30 mph above limit
Excessive Speed Mandatory Penalty: $180 fine
Excessive Speed Maximum Penalty: 30 days imprisonment, $600 fine
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: $100 fine
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 30 days imprisonment, $300 fine, license suspension

North Carolina

Max Highway Speed: 70 mph
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: 60-day license suspension if 15 mph above 55-mph-or-higher limit or above 80 mph and reckless driving; class 2 misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 60 days imprisonment, $1000 fine, 1-year license suspension

North Dakota

Max Highway Speed: 75 mph
Excessive Speed Level: 36 mph above limit
Excessive Speed Mandatory Penalty: $155 fine, 7-day license suspension
Excessive Speed Maximum Penalty: $170-plus fine, 7-day-plus license suspension
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: none; class B misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 30 days imprisonment, $1000 fine, 7-day-plus license suspension

Ohio

Max Highway Speed: 70 mph
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: none; minor misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: $100 fine, 6-month license suspension

Oklahoma

Max Highway Speed: 75 mph
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: $100 fine; misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 90 days imprisonment, $500 fine, 1-year license suspension

Oregon

Max Highway Speed: 65 mph
Excessive Speed Level: 100 mph
Excessive Speed Mandatory Penalty: $1150 fine, 30-day license suspension
Excessive Speed Maximum Penalty: $1150 fine, 90-day license suspension
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: 90-day license suspension; misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 1 year imprisonment, $5000 fine, 90-day license suspension

Pennsylvania

Max Highway Speed: 65–70 mph
Excessive Speed Level: 31 mph above limit
Excessive Speed Mandatory Penalty: 15-day license suspension and/or special on-road driver’s examination
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: 6-month license suspension
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: $200 fine, 6-month license suspension

Rhode Island

Max Highway Speed: 65 mph
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: none; misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 1 year imprisonment, $500 fine, 30-day license suspension

South Carolina

Max Highway Speed: 70 mph
Excessive Speed Level: 25 mph above limit
Excessive Speed Mandatory Penalty: none
Excessive Speed Maximum Penalty: 30 days imprisonment, $200 fine, license suspension
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: none; misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 30 days imprisonment, $200 fine, 6-month license suspension

South Dakota

Max Highway Speed: 75 mph
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: none; class 1 misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 1 year imprisonment, $1000 fine, license suspension

Tennessee

Max Highway Speed: 70 mph
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: none; class B misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 6 months imprisonment, $500 fine, license suspension

Texas

Max Highway Speed: 85 mph
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: none; misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 30 days imprisonment, $200 fine, 1-year license suspension or indefinite revocation

Utah

Max Highway Speed: 80 mph
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: none; class B misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 6 months imprisonment, $1000 fine, 1-year license suspension

Vermont

Max Highway Speed: 65 mph
Excessive Speed Level: 30 mph above limit
Excessive Speed Mandatory Penalty: none; misdemeanor
Excessive Speed Maximum Penalty: 3 months imprisonment, $300 fine, 30-day-plus license suspension
Negligent Motor Vehicle Operation Level: none
Negligent Motor Vehicle Operation Mandatory Penalty: 30-day license suspension; misdemeanor
Negligent Motor Vehicle Operation Maximum Penalty: 1 year imprisonment, $1000 fine, 30-day license suspension

Virginia

Max Highway Speed: 70 mph
Reckless Driving Level: 80 mph, 20 mph over a 30-mph-or-higher limit, 60 mph in a 35-mph zone
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: none; class 1 misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 12 months imprisonment, $2500 fine, 6-month license suspension

Washington

Max Highway Speed: 70 mph
Reckless Driving Level: 1 mph above limit (speeding can be used as evidence of reckless driving, but generally speed alone won’t lead to a reckless driving charge)
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: none; gross misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 1 year imprisonment, $5000 fine, 1-year license suspension

West Virginia

Max Highway Speed: 70 mph
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: none; misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 90 days imprisonment, $500 fine, 1-year license suspension

Wisconsin

Max Highway Speed: 65 mph
Excessive Speed Level: 25 mph above a 55- or 65-mph limit
Excessive Speed Mandatory Penalty: 15-day license suspension
Excessive Speed Maximum Penalty: $300 fine, 15-day license suspension
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: none; civil forfeiture
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: $200 fine, 1-year license suspension

Wyoming

Max Highway Speed: 80 mph
Reckless Driving Level: none
Reckless Driving Mandatory Penalty: 90-day license suspension; misdemeanor
Reckless Driving Maximum Penalty: 6 months imprisonment, $750 fine, 90-day license suspension